Polk County farmers can now recieve aid from USDA from Sept. floods

ATLANTA, GA – Polk, Bartow, Gordon, Paulding, Whitfield, Catoosa, Chattooga and Walker counties are among 19 that have been designated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture as primary natural disaster areas due to losses from severe storms and floods in September. Farm operators in these areas may be eligible for low interest emergency loans from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency. Farmers have eight months to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. Each loan application will take into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. Farmers in neighboring counties also can apply for the loans. These include Floyd, Polk and Cherokee County, Ala. For more information, visit disaster.fsa.usda.gov online.