Flood victims can apply for tax relief

The Georgia Department of Revenue announced that flooding victims can now apply for tax relief. Taxpayers who reside in or have a business located in Bartow and Chattooga counties, along with several from metro Atlanta. Deadlines are being postponed until Dec. 17 for taxpayers who live or have a business in the disaster area. The postponement applies to return filing, tax payment and other time-sensitive acts otherwise due between Sept. 18, and Dec. 17. The postponement also includes return filing and tax payment. Carroll, Catoosa, Cherokee, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fulton, Gwinnett, Heard, Newton, Paulding, Rockdale, Stephens, and Walker counties qualify for the tax relief.