Early voting continues this week

Early voting in the Polk County Primary is pacing to exceed the number that participated in the Presidential Preference Primary back in March.

Numbers released from the Polk County Board of Elections office show that over 600 people had voted early at both Cedartown and Rockmart sites since the early voting period began on May 2.

At the end of a similar time period during the March Presidential Preference Primary, about 100 people had early voted.

There are several high profile races on the ballot, which is exclusively Republican for the first time in county history.

Incumbent Polk County Sheriff Johnny Moats of Cedartown is facing a challenge from John Wayne Anderson of Rockmart.

In the Polk County Commission District 2 race, incumbent Ray Barber of Rockmart faces three challengers, including former county commissioners Phillip Bentley of Cedartown and Ricky Clark of Rockmart.  Former school board member Charles Thaxton is also seeking the District 2 seat.

The current chair of the county commission Stephanie Drake Burford of Rockmart faces a challenge to her current District 3 seat from another former county commissioner, Larry Reynolds of Rockmart.

The Polk County Board of Education race for District 5 includes incumbent Terry Estes and challenger Kristy Gober.

The current chair of the school board, Harold McDurmon faces a challenge in the District 6 race from Hal Floyd of Rockmart.

Michael Gravett is challenging the District 3 seat held by Scottie Worthington.

In other races, incumbent Probate Court Judge Linda Smith will face former Polk County District Attorney Bobby Brooks.

The Polk County Tax Commissioner race is up for grabs, as current commissioner Dorthy Wood announced her retirement earlier in the year.  David McElwee of Cedartown and Kathy Cole of Rockmart are seeking the post.

Visit www.polkgeorgia.org for information on early voting information and other general information regarding the primary.